Positive Reflection on AMAL journey

Sadia Yaseen
4 min readJun 4, 2021

--

Amal Journey

Reflection: — — — ” Looking back so the view looking forward is clearer” (Unknown)

Reflecting back, I remember I was locked in my house and enjoying moments of my happy internet scrolling. I received a message from my fellow about this fellowship. I immediately filled the form but that immediate action had no passion and positivity behind it. You can say life was pretty boring. At that time, I was scared of these online sessions since I had already spent a whole semester crying about online classes which felt like a routine.

Happy Moments before journey

Among this loop of classes, assignments, Instagram, and sleep. I started my AMAL fellowship in March 2021. At First, I thought it would be an online course having some easy-peasy projects and classes. But my first-weekend session changed my whole perspective. I can say that these 3 months were the best time of my career. Initiating from bit tweaky start and turning that into the most positive and exciting times, either its ever-lively fellows and facilitators (PM, PA) or interactive break-out room discussions during online sessions or the insightful online courses and project works or working in a circle or the one on one and mock interview, I really enjoyed and learned from each and every experience.

Every time I worked on my Project works, I got to grow in a new way, and every time, it was as exciting as the first time. I got to learn many new techniques like the Pomodoro technique and worked on my skills. I also could fulfill my philanthropic dream by helping in Edhi Funding. All of this made me so happy about the decision I made when I applied for this fellowship. Every task or challenge at Amal is another opportunity for us to polish our skills and to go the extra mile. To pen down an instance is very hard for me because every moment, even small or big, made this journey beautiful for me. 😍

An instance that had most of the impact on me was the “ Mega Project”. I was a one-man army before joining Amal. And I had no clue about this group project. If I knew maybe I would have shifted my mind. I sense unreasonable trouble working with others and I had a mindset that I can work better alone rather than being under the supervision of someone. But this project was an entirely new voyage for me and I decided to take on this teamwork challenge. I decided to be enthusiastic in this project whether my heart wants it or not or I will pretend that I can work with a team but in no time, I got adaptive to my team and its teamwork and all the credits to my fellows and this journey.

My team helped a lot in developing a sense of camaraderie in me. They also made me realize that your effort is valued more when you contribute to something in a team and it always brings positive results.

On top of all, I got to make new friends and meet such good people who never bring you down but help you go up. My fellows are all gems; by assisting me in PWs, making me smile when I am down, they have proved that. I will never trade my fellowship for something else because I found a group of the best people.

All these changes in my behavior are witnessed by my family and friends and they totally appreciate a confident me. My family told me that they always wanted to see me like this and they are happy for the optimistic and initiator they can see in me.

I am a lifelong learner and will try to grow more and more. Change is a never-ending process, so I can’t say my journey is complete, but I can say I choose a beautiful path to reach my destination. I am grateful for my fellows and Program Managers who guided us throughout this journey.!!!!!

--

--